Wood County, Wisconsin

Official Website

User Icon Login

Vital Record Certificates

Note: It is a felony to copy or reproduce these certificates per Wisconsin State Statute 69.24(1).

Expedited Service

For your convenience, the Wood County Register of Deeds offers online vital record requests through two separate companies, Official Records Online and VitalChek. Orders are processed the same business day, when open, up until 4 PM. Orders received after this time will be processed the next business day.

To begin your order, choose one of the links below. The vendors charge an additional service fee for processing your request; this processing fee allows the companies to verify your ID through an ID verification service. We are doing everything we can to secure your record and identity.

Official Records Online – $10 service fee plus certificate cost.
Shipping options: standard mail ($1.50) or FedEx Overnight ($30)
Official Records Online

VitalChek - $20 service fee plus certificate cost.
Shipping options: standard mail ($0.00), UPS Air ($19), and UPS 2-day ($16.50)
www.vitalchek.com

Regular Service via Mail

  1. Download and print one of the following Vital Record application forms.
  2. Complete all parts of the appropriate form.
  3. Enclose the following in an envelope:
    • The completed form you printed.
    • A self-addressed stamped envelope.
    • A money order or cashiers check payable to "Register of Deeds".
      PLEASE NOTE: PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED
    • A photocopy of your valid photo ID.
  4. Mail the completed form and payment to:
    Wood County Register of Deeds
    PO Box 8095
    Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54495-8095

Certificate Application Forms

Haga clic aquí para versiones en español.

Certificate Copy Fees

  • Birth Certificate - $20.00
    Additional copy ordered at the same time as the first copy - $3.00 each.
  • Marriage Certificate - $20.00
    Additional copy ordered at the same time as the first copy - $3.00 each.
  • Domestic Partnership Declaration or Termination - $20.00
    Additional copy ordered at the same time as the first copy - $3.00 each.
  • Death Certificate - $20.00
    Additional copy ordered at the same time as the first copy - $3.00 each.
  • Divorce Certificate - $20.00
    Additional copy ordered at the same time as the first copy - $3.00 each.
    **For divorces filed after Jan 1, 2016.**
    Prior to that date, contact Clerk of Courts.

Required Identification

Identification is required to pick up certified copies of vital records in person. The acceptable forms of identification are:

ONE OF THESE:

  • Valid State Issued driver's license or ID card
  • Tribal or Military ID card
  • Valid Government-issued employee ID card or badge with photograph.
  • Passport

OR TWO OF THESE:

  • Bank/Earnings statement
  • Current, dated, signed lease
  • Bill addressed to you
  • Traffic ticket
  • Hunting/Fishing license
  • Vehicle registration/title

All forms of identification must show your current name and address. Expired cards or documents will not be accepted.